PDP wins Oyo local government elections

Olufemi Olaniyi

24 May 2021

Kindly share this story:

THE Oyo State Independent National Electoral Commission has declared candidates of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party in the state  winners of the chairmanship elections conducted in 32 out of the 33 local government areas in the state.

The Chairman of OYSIEC, Mr  Isiaka Olagunju ( SAN), declared the winners at the headquarters of the commission in Ibadan on Sunday.

There are 33 local government councils in the state, but the election in Ido Local Government Area was suspended on Saturday due to compliant over the omission of the logo of the Zenith Labour Party on the ballot papers in the council.

Olagunju said on Saturday that the commission took responsibility for the error and postponed the poll in the affected council to Sunday (the next day).

While the election could not hold on Sunday, the OYSIEC boss announced that the poll would be held on Saturday, May 29.

Realising that May 29 is a public holiday, he again changed the date to Wednesday, May 26.

There were reports that somebody was killed and two vehicles set ablaze, but this could not be immediately verified.

The Police Public Relations Officer in Oyo State, Mr Adewale Osifeso, had said the elections were generally peaceful, even as Governor Seyi Makinde also expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the polls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *